< NASW Homepage
Sitemap Join NASW Contact
NASW Foundation Board Members
NASW Foundation Programs
NASW Foundation Partners and Donors
NASW Foundation Fellowship, Scholarship and Research Awards
NASW Foundation Recognition Awards
NASW Foundation Events
NASW Social Work Pioneers
Make A Donation
Print This Page

2011 Knee/Wittman & Rhoda G. Sarnat

Awards Ceremony and Reception

held on November 7, 2012 in Washington, DC

NASW President, Jeane Anastas, presented the Knee/Wittman Health and Mental Health Achievement Awards and the International Rhoda G. Sarnat Award on November 7, 2012 to Peter Vaughan, PhD, ACSW, Dean of the Graduate School of Social Work, Fordham University; Peter Delany, PhD, LCSW-C, Director of the Center for Behavioral Health and Statistics for the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA); and Marilyn Flynn, PhD, MSW, Dean and Professor of Social Work at the University of South California. Social Work leaders and allied professionals from NASW, NASW Maryland Chapter, NASW Metro DC Chapter, NASW Social Work Pioneers®, SAMHSA, Adelphi University, Catholic University of America, Eastern Michigan University, Fordham University, Howard University, Monmouth University, New York University, Rush University Medical Center and the University at Albany attended.

The award presentation and reception was held at the NASW National Office Conference Center in Washington, D.C.

Dr. Vaughan is the recipient of the Knee/Wittman Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognizes a professional social worker who, over the course of his/her career, has made an exemplary contribution to health/mental health practice. Dr. Delany is the recipient of the Knee/Wittman Outstanding Achievement Award, which recognizes an individual or group that has had a significant impact on national health and/or mental health public policy, professional standards, or exemplary program models.

Dr. Flynn is the 18th recipient of the Rhoda G. Sarnat Award, which is given to an individual, group, or organization that has significantly advanced the public image of professional social work. This monetary prize is made possible from an endowment fund established by a generous contribution in 1996 from Mrs. Rhoda Sarnat, LCSW and her late spouse, Bernard Sarnat, MD. Rhoda G. Sarnat is a retired clinical social worker, former faculty member at the University of Southern California Graduate School of Social Work, and a member of NASW who is committed to improving the public perception of professional social work. The purpose of the Sarnat Award is to increase public awareness and recognition of the value of professional social work.

The award ceremony opened with welcoming remarks from NASW Chief Executive Officer and NASW Foundation President Elizabeth J. Clark. NASW President, Jeane Anastas, presented each of the awards followed by remarks from Dr. Vaughan, Dr. Delany and Dr. Flynn.

Visit Flickr to see a photo gallery of this event.



Top of Page | Print This Page | Contact Us | Privacy Statement