< NASW Homepage
Sitemap Join NASW Contact
NASW Foundation Board Members
NASW Foundation Programs
NASW Foundation Partners and Donors
NASW Foundation Fellowship, Scholarship and Research Awards
NASW Foundation Recognition Awards
NASW Foundation Events
NASW Social Work Pioneers
Make A Donation
Print This Page

NASW Foundation Hosts Reception in Honor of Knee/Wittman Health & Mental Health Achievement Award Winners

The NASW Foundation hosted a reception and awards ceremony in honor of the 2002 Knee/Wittman Health and Mental Health Achievement Awards on Saturday, April 27, in Washington, DC, at the Hyatt Regency on Capitol Hill. Mr. Ken Lee, ACSW, DCSW, received the Lifetime Achievement Award in Health and Mental Health Practice. Rose Dobrof, DSW, received the Outstanding Achievement Award in Health and Mental Health Policy. Ken LeeMr. Lee is the former supervisor and discharge planning coordinator, Social Work Service, at Tripler Army Medical Center in Hawaii. Before joining Tripler Army Medical Center, he served in the U.S. Air Force as a uniformed social work officer. He continued his work with military-related clients following active duty in a variety of medical and psychiatric settings with the Veterans Administration and the Department of the Army. Since his retirement from federal service in 2000, Mr. Lee has worked as a volunteer for the American Red Cross as a disaster mental health specialist and is a member of the American Red Cross Aviation Incident Response (AIR) Team and the International Response Team (IRT) for transportation disasters. He is also the Hawaii State Chapter Disaster Mental Health Lead and a disaster mental health instructor for the American Red Cross. He assisted in providing disaster mental health services at the World Trade Center following the events of September 11. In addition, he volunteers for the American Cancer Society as a consultant and facilitator in planning and conducts activities for teenagers and children who are cancer survivors.Rose DobrofDr. Dobrof is Brookdale Professor of Gerontology at Hunter College of the City University of New York. During the past 30 years she has become a nationally renowned expert in the field of aging, and has helped to make the Brookdale Center on Aging a leading research, education, and clinical center. In 1975 she became Founding Director of Hunter’s Brookdale Center on Aging (a position she relinquished in 1994). She also served as the codirector of the Hunter College/Mount Sinai School of Medicine Geriatric Education Center; and in 1997 the Graduate School and University Center of the City University of New York named her professor emerita of the Doctoral Program in Social Welfare. President Clinton appointed Dr. Dobrof to serve as a member of the Policy Committee for the 1995 White House Conference on Aging and The Federal Council on Aging. She has received numerous awards including the Robert Parks Award, the Alice Brophy Award, the Gift of Life Award, and the Walter M. Beattle Award for Distinguished Service in Aging.

Ruth KneeThe Knee/Wittman Awards are given to recognize individuals who are models of excellence and have made significant contributions in the field of health and mental health. The Knee/Wittman Award Program was established to recognize those who represent the values, ethics, and approaches exemplified by two dedicated social work pioneers, Ruth Knee and Milton Wittman. Ms. Knee and Mr. Wittman (1915-1994) guided the development of social policy and standards. Their lifelong commitment to social values and the effective provision of services to disadvantaged people are reflected in their careers with the Public Health Service and in their leadership roles with professional social work.


Top of Page | Print This Page | Contact Us | Privacy Statement