NASW Foundation Homepage
NASW Foundation Board Members
NASW Foundation Programs
NASW Foundation Partners and Donors
NASW Foundation Contact
Make a Donation
NASW Foundation Events
NASW Foundation Fellowship, Scholarship and Research Awards
NASW Social Work Pioneers
NASW Foundation Sitemap

2003 Whitney M. Young, Jr., Memorial Lecture and Tea

On February 20, 2003, the National Association of Social Workers Foundation (NASWF) and the NASW Black Caucus co-sponsored the annual Whitney M. Young, Jr., Memorial Lecture and Tea.  More than 90 people attended the event, held from 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. at Gallaudet University’s Kellogg Conference Center in Washington, DC, to celebrate the life and legacy of civil rights leader, social worker, and past NASW President, Whitney M. Young, Jr.  William Lawrence Pollard, PhD, MSW, delivered the keynote address

Please click here to view the program or to read the article in the NASW News.

The 2003 lecture received generous support from a number of groups and individuals:

Black Administrators in Child Welfare, Inc.
Sondra Jackson, Executive Director
Julia Danzy, President

Gallaudet University, Department of
Social Work
Barbara J. White, DSW, Chair

Howard University, School of Social Work
Richard A. English, PhD, Dean

Ohio State University, College of Social Work
Tony Tripodi, ACSW, DSW, Dean
Mary Ellen Kondrat, PhD, MSW
Associate Dean and MSW Director

Rutgers, The State University of
New Jersey, School of Social Work
Mary Edna Davidson, PhD, Dean

Smith College, School for Social Work
Carolyn Jacobs, PhD, Acting Dean
Susan Donner, PhD, Acting Associate Dean

Southern Illinois University Carbondale,
School of Social Work
Mizanur R. Miah, PhD, MSW
School and Graduate Program Director

Syracuse University, School of Social Work
Nancy R. Mudrick, PhD, MSW
Director, School of Social Work
College of Human Services & Health Professions

University of Illinois at Chicago,
Jane Addams
College of Social Work
Creasie Finney Hairston, PhD, Dean
Jerry R. Cates, PhD, Associate Dean

University of Maryland, Baltimore,
School of Social Work
Jesse J. Harris, PhD, ACSW, Dean
Geoffrey L. Greif, DSW, ACSW,
Associate Dean

University of Michigan,
School of Social Work
Paula Allen-Mearles, PhD, MSW, Dean

University of Pittsburgh,
School of Social Work
Larry E. Davis, PhD, Dean, Donald M.
Henderson Professor
Sandra Wexler, DSW, ACSW,
Director of MSW Program

University of the District of Columbia,
Social Work Program
Janet Burton, DSW, ACSW, Director



  • Robert Carter Arnold
  • Elizabeth J. Clark, PhD, ACSW, MPH
  • Victoria M. Cofield-Aber, MSW
  • Becky S. Corbett, ACSW
  • Kerri Criswell, MSW
  • Weslia J. Holloway, MSW
  • Mary Kiernan-Stern, MSW
  • Lavolia P. Mack-Miller, MSW
  • Mary A. Sands, BSW
  • Janice Scott Thomas, ACSW

With special thanks to Marianne Wood, MSW, Chairperson, Whitney M. Young, Jr., Memorial Lecture and Tea