NASW Foundation fellowships help provide the financial resources to support students pursuing a variety of social work specialties. Foundation fellowships include the Eileen Blackey Doctoral Fellowship and the Jane B. Aron Doctoral Fellowship.  The Aron Fellowship is currently supplemented by, and is part of, the Social Work HEALS program, which was funded in 2014 by a generous five-year grant from the New York Community Trust Robert and Ellen Popper Scholarship Fund.  

The Foundation is pleased to administer this five-year collaborative endeavor of NASW and the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE). A total of five Social Work HEALS Doctoral Fellowships will be awarded each year during the anticipated five year funding period along with one Jane B. Aron Doctoral Fellowship and four Verne LaMarr Lyons Memorial MSW Scholarships, which are also currently supplemented and administered through Social Work HEALS.

NASW National Awards

The NASW National Awards recognize leaders in the profession and in our communities who fully embody social work values and ethics. Our past award recipients have accomplished the extraordinary and we have been honored to recognize them. Read More >>

NASW Foundation / NASW Chapter Partnership

The NASW Foundation, as the tax-exempt subsidiary of NASW, is available to all NASW Chapters to house funds that are to be used for scientific, educational, and charitable purposes, and for which tax deductibility by the donor is desired. Learn More >>

Young Woman Engrossed In Application At Table


The Jane B. Aron and Eileen Blackey Doctoral Fellowship programs are paused for the 2023-2024 academic year. No fellowships will be given. Please check back in 2024 for updated information.

Read bios of current NASW Foundation Scholars and Fellows by following this link



Please contact us at naswfoundation@socialworkers.org